WBSC‎ > ‎

WBSC announces second round pools for Women’s Softball World Championship

posted Jul 18, 2016, 10:26 PM by Unknown user

WBSC announces second round pools for Women’s Softball World Championship

SURREY (CAN) – The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today revealed the new pools and schedule for the Championship and Placement round-robins for the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship, which opened on Friday (15 July), in Surrey, Canada.

See Schedule

Following the three-day preliminary group stage in the women’s international softball flagship event, 16 nations (the top two nations from each pool) have advanced into the Championship Round. The bottom two teams in each pool have been eliminated from medal contention but will continue in the Placement Round.


Pool A: Japan, New Zealand, Great Britain, Chinese Taipei
Pool B: United States, China, Australia, Philippines
Pool C: Mexico, Netherlands, Brazil, Cuba
Pool D: Canada, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Italy


Pool A: France, Peru, Ireland, India
Pool B: Austria, Greece, Serbia, Pakistan
Pool C: Switzerland, Czech Republic, Israel, Guatemala
Pool D: Uganda, Ecuador, Kenya


Continued coverage of the 2016 Women’s Softball World Championship is available via worldsoftball.tv. Play-by-play can be followed via surrey2016.com.


The top competing nations in Surrey have been allocated to four fresh sections of four based on their finish in the preliminary round-robin to compete in the Championship Double Page system.

Nations that finished third and fourth in the opening round will continue in a placement pool advancing to play in a Double Page and Single Page placement pools to allocate the rest of the positions.

The gold medal game will take centre stage on 24 July at 18:00, and will be preceded by the bronze medal match at 13:00.