WBSC‎ > ‎

USA wins Pan American Women’s Softball Championship over Mexico, qualify for Chiba 2018

posted Aug 18, 2017, 2:04 PM by Jairy Otero

USA wins Pan American Women’s Softball Championship over Mexico, qualify for Chiba 2018

SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic — USA was crowned as Pan American Champions after defeating Mexico in the final by 9-0. Previously, in the Bronze Medal game, USA defeated Canada by 11-3 to reach the final game.

Besides, we already know the Americas countries qualified for the next WBSC World Championship and Pan American Games. USA (#2 in the WBSC World Ranking), Canada (#3), Puerto Rico (#7), Mexico (#10) and Venezuela (#16) will play the Worlds next year; and will join Peru to compete in the Women’s Softball competition in Lima 2019.

USA had a furious offensive day this Sunday, in the Stadium 1 of the Centro Olimpico Juan Pablo Duarte, defeating by knock out their two rivals in five innings.

In the final, USA defeated Mexico by 9-0 with a no-hitter by Kelly Barnhill. In the first inning both teams retired the side, with Dallas Escobedo for Mexico and Barnhill for USA. However, the second inning was a slugging festival for USA to reach the victory.

Amanda Chidester led off with a single, and advanced with a bunt by Valerie Arioto. From there, the US bats got hot and the fireworks started. Ali Aguilar hit a two run homer; Delaney Spaulding and Aubree Munro followed her with consecutive singles, and Jannie Takeda hit a three run shot to make it 5-0.

Chyanne Tarango replaced Escobedo in the circle, but couldn’t stop the US offense. Chidester step up to the plate for second time in the inning, and hit an RBI single to plate Kelsey Stewart, and Arioto closed the party with a three run bomb to left field, scoring the last runs of the tournament.

In the other hand, the Mexican lineup was dominated by Barnhill, who allowed only one runner in the game (a hit by pitch in the second inning), and fanned 10, including the last three outs of the game to clinch the title.

This way, USA got the Gold Medal, Mexico the Silver and Canada the Bronze.

To play in the final, USA defeated Canada by 11-3 in the Bronze Medal game. Canada scored three runs in the first inning, but USA came recovered from a bad start and took the game.

Canada scored early against Danielle O’Toole, scoring three in the bottom of the first. Kelsey Jenkins walked, and scored with an RBI single by Erika Polidori. After that, Holly Speers hit a long homer to center field to put the game 3-0.

In the top of the second USA score done. Delaney Spaulding walked with the bases loaded for the first run of the US team.

One inning later USA tied the game. Valerie Arioto hit a change up to left field for an RBI double, and scored with a single by Ali Aguilar, to make it 3-3.

The champions took the lead in the fourth inning. Munro singled to left field and Stewart was hit by pitch, before Michelle Moultrie hit a three run bomb for the 6-3 lead.

Finally, in the top of the fifth, USA sent 10 batters to the plate and scored five runs with five consecutive RBI singles, to end the game by knock out.

Puerto Rico, the last guest

Puerto Rico clinched the fifth spot in the tournament defeating Cuba by 1-0. This way they will play the next World Championship and Pan American Games.

In a very close game, with a dominant performance by the pitchers, Puerto Rico took advantage of an error to take the lead and the game.

In the bottom of the second, Puerto Rico scored the only run of the game. Morganne Flores singled to right field, and advanced with a sacrifice by Casey Gordon. Aleshia Ocasio hit to the pitcher, who got the runner in a rundown between second and third, but a throwing error by the Cuban defense allowed Flores to reach third. With runners in the corners, Dayanira Diaz hit a rolling to second base to plate the game winning run.

All tournament team

During the closing ceremony, the organization announced the All tournament team:

Pitcher: Anyibel Ramírez (Venezuela)
Catcher: Magalí Frezzotti (Argentina)
First Base: Victoria Vidales (Mexico)
Second Base: Maylin Sanchez (Cuba)
Third Base: Yilian Rondon (Cuba)
Short Stop: Brigette Del Ponte (Mexico)
Outfield: Erika Polidori (Canada)
Outfield: Haylie McCleney (USA)
Outfield: Elicia D’Orazio (Puerto Rico)
Designated Player: Vivian Morimoto (Brazil)

Qualified teams:

2018 Women’s World Championship2019 Pan Am Games2018 CAC Games
CanadaCanadaColombia (host)
Puerto RicoPeru (host)Curacao
USAPuerto RicoDominican Republic
VenezuelaPuerto Rico