WBSC‎ > ‎

Puerto Rico Men’s Softball National Championship: Guaynabo Mets win back-to-back crowns

posted Feb 12, 2017, 8:14 PM by Jairy Otero

Puerto Rico Men’s Softball National Championship: Guaynabo Mets win back-to-back crowns

PONCE, Puerto Rico — The Guaynabo Mets have repeated as Puerto Rico Men’s National Champions by dominating the Ponce Lions, 11-3, in the third and final game of the championship series.

The win marks Guaynabo’s twelfth overall national championship and the two powerhouse clubs now winning a combined 27 out of 30 national championships.

The Ponce Lions scored first in the series finale as Edward Gonzalez hit a RBI-single to center field with two outs for the early 1-0 lead.

The Mets then tied the game up in the third inning from single by Emanuel Colón, allowing Luis Vázquez to score.

In the next set of at-bats, Ponce recovered as Mets right-hander David Rivera threw four consecutive walks to give the Lions the 2-1 advantage. Erick Maldonado connected a sacrifice high to center field with the bases loaded and only one out, allowing one more run to score.

But in the top of the sixth, the Mets got their offense going and never looked back. Lions pitcher Andres Carrasquillo opened the inning with two consecutive walks. With two on base, Mets Jesus Feliciano took advantage and connected for a three-run shot to tie the game.  Rookie Angel Rosa followed with a single to right field to score Feliciano for the go-ahead run. Guaynabo later scored seven more runs to secure the 11-3 win.

Guaynabo earned the national crown in consistent fashion finishing the regular season with an 11-1 record with their only loss coming from Barranquitas.

In the quarterfinals of the playoff, they swept Juana Diaz, while in the semifinal they eliminated Barranquitas in a 3-1 series record.

The Guaynabo Mets’ solid offense and effective pitching led to their fourth consecutive finale appearance and successfully defending their national title.