WBSC‎ > ‎

Pan American Women’s Softball Championship Playoffs begin tomorrow

posted Aug 18, 2017, 2:01 PM by Jairy Otero

Pan American Women’s Softball Championship Playoffs begin tomorrow

SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic — After the last day of the round robin, tomorrow will begin the double page playoffs of the Pan American Women’s Softball Championship.

The top two teams of each group qualified for the playoffs, trying to reach one of the five spots for the 2018 WBSC Women’s World Championship in Chiba, Japan; and as many places for Lima 2019 Pan American Games. Besides, the top five teams of the Central American and Caribbean region, plus the top ECASC team, will play Softball in Barranquilla 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games.

In the first game of the day, Cuba beat Argentina by 2-0 and clinched the third place in Pool B. The Caribbean team opened the score in the first inning, with an RBI single by Leannely Gomez to plate Yuselis Acosta, while the second run was produced by Lorenzo with an RBI single to center field. For Argentina, the only two hits of the game were hit by Pamela Clark, in the first and last inning. With this score, Cuba finished in third place and Brazil fourth, while Argentina couldn’t make the playoffs finishing in the fifth spot.

The other relevant game for the playoff run was Dominican Republic against Curacao, and the host team won it 8-1 in six innings. The Dominicans opened a huge gap in the first two innings of play scoring seven runs to define the game. The game finished with a walk-off home run by Geavanny Nuñez to left field in the sixth inning to end the game by knock out.

With this scores, USA, Venezuela, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic advance to the playoffs in Pool A; while Canada, Mexico, Cuba and Brazil make the playoff in Pool B.

Tomorrow will begin the playoffs. At 11, USA will face Mexico; while Canada and Venezuela will play at 13:30. The four teams have double life in the playoff. In the other hand, in single elimination games, Puerto Rico will play against Brazil at 16:00, and the Dominican Republic will face Cuba at 18:30.