WBSC‎ > ‎

Canada announces 2017 Women’s Softball National Team

posted Jul 9, 2017, 8:46 PM by Unknown user

Canada announces 2017 Women’s Softball National Team

OTTAWA, Canada — The WBSC recognised softball national federation in Canada – Softball Canada – has announced the Women’s National Team selected to represent Canada for the 2017 season. The final roster was determined following a Selection Camp held in Mississauga, Ont. this past week.

“The Selection Camp was excellent; it was very competitive as the coaching staff witnessed some strong performances,” stated Mark Smith, High Performance Director and Head Coach of the Women’s National Team program. “We were very pleased to see younger players rise to the occasion and challenge for positions on our roster.”

The Women’s National Team will travel to Chicago, IL (USA) to play an exhibition series against the Chicago Bandits of the National Pro Fastpitch League (NPF) on 30 June and 1 July, followed by two WBSC-sanctioned events – World Cup of Softball from 5-9 July in Oklahoma City (USA) and Canada Cup from 11-17 July 11-17 in Surrey (Canada).

The Women’s National Team will later take on the Akron Racers NPF team on 31 July and 1 August in Akron, OH (USA) prior to competing in the WBSC Pan American Women’s Softball Championship, which is scheduled to take place 4-13 August in Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic). The team will later travel overseas to compete in the Japan Cup from 25-28 August.

The athletes who have been selected to the 2017 Canadian Women’s National Team roster are:

  • Jenna Caira
  • Sarah Chow
  • Larissa Franklin
  • Sara Groenewegen
  • Victoria Hayward
  • Karissa Hovinga
  • Kelsey Jenkins
  • Joey Lye
  • Sara Plourde
  • Erika Polidori
  • Kaleigh Rafter
  • Jenn Salling
  • Holly Speers
  • Carey-Leigh Vyse
  • Natalie Wideman

The following athletes from the Junior Women’s National Team and Women’s Elite Team rosters will join the Women’s National Team to compete in the US World Cup of Softball XII in Oklahoma City:

  • Brianna Aguilar-Beaucage
  • Kara Bilodeau
  • Jocelyn Cater
  • Courtney Gilbert
  • Nicole Rivait