WBSC‎ > ‎

2016 Japan Women’s Softball League season set to open in Chiba

posted Apr 26, 2016, 7:45 PM by Jairy Otero

2016 Japan Women’s Softball League season set to open in Chiba

The 49th Japan Women Softball League (JWSL) will open their season 16-17 April at the QVC Marine Field in Chiba, Japan – the site of the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship.

Opening weekend will feature all twelve teams with Olympians and national team athletes competing. All games will be available to watch via free live and on-demand web-streaming through the JWSL website – jsl-women.com/.

Opening Weekend schedule (all times local – GMT +09:00 Tokyo Time):

Saturday, 16 April

  • 10:30 am: Toyota Shokki vs Hitachi
  • 12:45 pm: Iyo Bank vs Shionogi & Co.
  • 3:00 pm: Toyota Motor vs Denso

Sunday, 17 April

  • 10:30 am: Toda Medical Group vs NEC Platforms
  • 12:45 pm: Taiyo Yuden vs SG Holdings Group
  • 3:00 pm: BIC Camera Takasaki vs Honda

Watch your favorite international and Olympic athletes compete in this elite-level professional league.

  • Monica Abbott – USA, Silver 2008 Beijing (Toyota Motor “Red Terriers”)
  • Valerie Arioto – USA (Honda “Reverta”)
  • Kaylyn Castillo – USA (Toyota Shokki “Shining Vega”)
  • Brittany Cervantes – USA (Todo Medical Group “Medics”)
  • Morgan Melloh – USA (Honda “Reverta”)
  • Yukiyo Mine – Japan, Gold 2008 Beijing (Toyota Motor “Red Terriers”)
  • Rei Nishiyama – Japan, Gold 2008 Beijing (Toyota Shokki “Shining Vega”)
  • Kaia Parnaby – Australia (SG Holdings “Galaxy Stars”)
  • Sarah Pauly – USA (Todo Medical Group “Medics”)
  • Stacy Porter – Australia, Silver 2004 Athens, Bronze 2008 Beijing (SG Holdings “Galaxy Stars”)
  • Keilani Ricketts – USA (Toyota Shokki “Shining Vega”)
  • Jaclyn Traina – USA (Denso “Bright Pegasus”)
  • Yukiko Ueno – Japan, Bronze 2004 Athens, Gold 2008 Beijing (BIC Camera “Takasaki”)
  • Natasha Watley – USA, Gold 2004 Athens, Silver 2008 Beijing (Toyota Motor “Red Terriers”)
  • Megan Wiggins – USA (BIC Camera “Takasaki”)
  • Eri Yamada – Japan, Bronze 2004, Gold 2008 Beijing (Hitachi “Sun Diva”)

The 2015 season was won by BIC Camera in a 1-0 victory over Toyota Motor. This victory marked their first championship after being established just last year, replacing Renesas Electronics.  Olympic gold medalist and two-time world champion, Yukiko Ueno, received the MVP award following her 4 hit, 11 strikeout performance at the Grand Final.